This one is dedicated to Temerity Jane.

Y’all, I am not gonna bullshit you with some old joke about how I forgot I had a blog (I didn’t), or that life has been so incredibly busy I haven’t had time to write (it hasn’t). I’mma give it to you straight (oh HA HA HA, I am so fucking funny): I just haven’t had anything to say. If you’ve read anything else I’ve ever posted here, you’ll already know this entire blog consists of me complaining mightily about anything and everything, and y’all- I just haven’t had that much to complain about lately. Not that it’s a bed of roses around here, or nothing, but things are on a pretty even keel, and honestly, that’s pretty much all I ever wanted for myself. A little even keel.

Looking back over the archives, I see that I wrote an official eight months post, and then covered the highlights of nine months in another post, and I was kind of mentally saving all the “good stuff” for a one year old (OMFG CAN YOU EVEN BELIEVE IT HAS ALMOST BEEN A MOTHERFUCKING YEAR??!?!) post, but here we are, at four days shy of 11 months, so I guess I’ll write about that.

Olivia is AWESOME. She can walk with her push cart, and can babble in what sounds like sentences. She puts her head in the water during swim lessons, and she crawls full tilt towards her chair when I ask her if she wants breakfast. She points at the television when she wants to watch Yo Gabba Gabba, and she will sit in my lap her head leaning on my chest for the first ten minutes of the show. She eats anything you put in front of someone else (even if the EXACT SAME thing is on her plate), she is obsessed with balls of all shapes and sizes, and she’d really prefer if no one else played with any of the balls, because she will get to that one eventually. YES, THAT ONE TOO. In just a blink of an eye, she will be a one year old, and I almost don’t even know what to do with that, because I am still sort of coming to terms with the fact that I even have a baby in the first place.

So, I know people read my posts, and not just because people occasionally comment, but because I too, can check my stats page, and I dare say I don’t believe ANYONE who says they don’t check their stats page, because if they really didn’t, they’d be writing in a paper journal. because part of the whole damn point of public blogging is so that people, and maybe a lot of them, will read it. But when I look at the stats page, it’s all a bunch of numbers, so I am always shocked to encounter people in real life who read my blog (who aren’t related to me. Hi, Maman!). I’ve become, over the last month or so, a way more active participant in the local mom’s group (what up, New Moms of Long Beach), and I must have linked this blog in my profile, because I often get “I’ve been reading your blog” as part of the niceties of introductions when I attend play dates. Not gonna lie, I love hearing that, mostly because they then tell me I’m funny, which is a serious compliment, if you want my opinion.

Speaking of play dates, y’all. Y’all. This play date thing is the BOMB. I’m lucky enough that this mom’s group I’ve joined is super active, and the moms are all very relatable (even though most of them are a GOOD five years younger than I am), and I can hit a play date three times a week if I want to. I don’t know how exactly it works, but we all toss our kids in the middle of the circle and dump in a bunch of toys, and two hours flies by, and even though I’m still watching Olivia, it some how feels easier than when it’s just the two of us at home. I have yet to pull it together enough to actually HOST a play date, mostly because I have not figured out how to clean house with a little one around.

20120602-225757.jpg

20120602-230029.jpg

That’s about all I’ve got, y’all.  Stay at Home Momming is… kinda boring.

