I stole this from Sundry, who’s been doing it every year since… forever?  I thought I’d join in this year.

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

  I had a baby.  There are a whole host of first associated with having a baby: being visibly pregnant, having an epidural, having major abdominal surgery, crying my eyes out in a Whole Foods.

 I can’t think of anything else I did in 2011 I hadn’t done before because the baby thing sort of eclipses it all, but I’m sure there must have been SOMETHING.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I’m not so big on resolutions, mostly because I know I won’t keep them, but I distinctly remember making “birthing and keeping a baby alive” my general 2011 goal at the end of 2010, so, YES!  Resolution kept.  I think I’ll amend it for this year to be “continue to keep baby alive,” and add in a couple more:

Relax (not as in, lounge around the pool, although that would be nice, but more like, take a deep breath, clear your mind, and don’t worry so damn much).

Exercise more.  Always this one- mostly because it makes me feel better.  Shedding a few extra pounds wouldn’t hurt either, but that’s more like a lifelong goal, not one specific to 2012. 

 3. Did anyone close to you give birth??

Ahh, me?  Several of my internet friends, and I like to think we’re pretty close, in that haven’t-met-in-real-life sort of way.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Fortunately, no.

 5. What countries did you visit?

 None.  2011 was a spectacularly bad year for travel, given that I like to leave the country at LEAST once a year.  I did some domestic travel though, most notably to North Carolina for Fake Thanksgiving.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

 Hmmm, this is a hard one, because in 2011 I was pregnant, and so I had so many expectations and hopes and ideas for what having a baby would be like, and it’s been roughly NOTHING LIKE THAT.  So maybe I should just say I’d like to have fewer expectations and more go-with-the-flow for the coming year.

 7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

 July 6th, Olivia’s birthday, of course.  The two weeks between June 19th and July 6th, where my parents were here in Long Beach, and we were all just WAITING and WAITING for Olivia to make her appearance. 

August 21st, our first anniversary, which is also the first time we left Olivia with someone else.

 8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Having a baby, staying mostly sane, getting myself out of the house when Olivia was young, even though I wanted nothing more than to stay inside and cry.

9. What was your biggest failure? 

Losing my shit, repeatedly, mostly in Jamie’s general direction, when we were both just trying to get by.  I should have had more faith, more trust, and more patience with my relationship than I did.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

For illness I’m going with gestational diabetes, even though that was probably less illness and more giant pain in the ass, but whatever.  As for injury, I think having someone LASER you open in order to extract what is essentially a giant parasite counts, so: C-section.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Twelve pre-natal massages and my midwife care.  The whole thing was WAY more chill and pleasant than the OB care I had in the beginning of my pregnancy.

12. Where did most of your money go?

The usual- rent, medical bills, food.

13. What did you get really excited about?

My parent’s first visit to Long Beach, the impending birth of my child (until everything went sideways, and then I was more panicked and pissed).

14. What song will always remind you of 2011?

Florence and the Machine’s Cosmic Love.  I played it on repeat endlessly as I waited for Olivia to show up. 

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:?

– happier or sadder? Oh, dear, this is a tough one.  I actually think I have to say “sadder” because this baby thing has been so so much harder than I thought it would be, and at this time last year, I was three months pregnant and brimming with enthusiasm and excitement.

– thinner or fatter? Oh, fatter.  Even though I am very close to my pre-pregnancy weight, every thing looks different and is in a different location, meaning that if I want to LOOK the same as I did before I got pregnant, I’m actually going to have to weigh LESS than I did then.  Weird.
– richer or poorer? The same, I think.  We eat out WAY LESS, but there’s a lot more plastic shit in our living room.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Travel in the front half of the year, when I was “just” pregnant. 

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

This will be my answer forever and always: worry.  I could be doing SO MUCH MORE with myself if I’d just stop worrying about everything all the damn time.

18. How did you spend Christmas?

We spent Christmas Eve with J’s sister and her family, and celebrated the first and last nights of Hanukkah at home, just the three of us. 

19. What was your favorite TV program?

Homeland and ParenthoodI also watched a bunch of Heroes in the first weeks of Olivia’s life.

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

Just under the wire, Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton.

21. What was your favorite music this year?

Florence and the Machine, Nicki Minaj

22. What were your favorite films of the year?

Did I see any movies?  I’m going to have to go with Battle:LA, if only because Olivia was in utero and I had never felt her kick so hard or for so long.  J and I spent most of the movie with our hands on my belly.

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 35, and J and I went out to dinner. 

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

If somehow, I was able to beg, borrow, or steal and giant well of patience.

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

Ha ha ha!  I was pregnant in the first half of the year, and post-partum in the second half, so: YOGA PANTS.

26. What kept you sane?

The answer will invariably be the same, year after year: Jamie.

Yoga helped too.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.

I can do it.  I am doing it.  Other people want to help. 

