Y’all, I am about three posts behind- I want to tell you about my trip to North Carolina, I want to tell you about how I haven’t gotten a wink of quality sleep due to this damned four-month sleep regression, and I want to generally bitch about… uhhh, whatever it is I generally bitch about, but right now, I have to tell you these two things.

I totally GET that savasana (corpse pose) is supposed to be a time of mind clearing and emptiness, or some such, but Y’ALL.  I cannot do this.  I am absolutely incapable of clearing my mind- there is always something to think about, and the best I can do is quietly let my mind wander in whatever direction it pleases.  Which is why it did the following a couple weeks ago:

So, you know how people say they’re fallen down a rabbit hole of research, or the Internet, or more recently, Pinterest?  I’m laying there, on my mat, trying to appear Zen, but in my mind’s eye I’m thinking about this turn of phrase and picturing the animated Alice in Wonderland movie, where she falls endlessly down the rabbit hole, and it’s all wonderous and interesting and fresh and new.  And that makes me wonder if that’s what the idiom is expressly referencing?  Because falling down a REAL rabbit hole can’t actually be that interesting, can it?  And there probably isn’t that much falling- I mean, sure, rabbits can dig, but not really THAT far, right?

OMG, that ENTIRE paragraph was a series of questions.

Anyhoo- so I’m thinking about falling down rabbit holes, and then it occurs to me that maybe EVERYONE already figured out that it’s a reference to Alice in Wonderland, and I am just the last person out there being tortured by these sorts of thoughts, which brings me to my second story (OMG, bless your hearts if you’re still reading).

In my eleventh grade English class, my teacher was big on epiphanies.  She wanted us to experience epiphanies as we read, to discover something that was deep or meaningful about the story, some bit of symbolism or hidden meaning that just jumped out at you, or smacked you on the forehead, or went off like a light bulb over your head, or whatever imagery “epiphany” brings to mind for you.

I am pretty crappy at pulling out symbolism or imagery from the novels I read, so I found this assignment on the hard side, until we were tasked with reading The Yellow Wallpaper, by Charlotte Perkins Gilman.  It’s a short story, so hit that link and read it. I’ll wait here.

You all see it, right?  That the pattern in the paper is her?  Trapped in her mental prison?  Ok, well, sixteen year old me didn’t get it.  Not until I sat bolt upright one night in bed, thinking IT’S HER!  And so, I tried to write a paper explaining this as my deep epiphany about this short story.  My epiphany was the WHOLE DAMN POINT of the story.  Because I am a literary genius, obviously.  Bless my English teacher, for kindly pointing out that I was kind of a dumbass.  Oh, I was so damn proud of myself for finally HAVING an epiphany, and it turns out it was a really pathetic one.

By now savasana was over, so I had to stop my mental ruminations and return to the real world of bottles and babies and not sleeping.  But I can’t be the only one, right?  What super obvious thing did you miss?

 

